Categories
Campaign Arc Background Pathfinder RPG Content

Pathfinder Campaign Arc: Riddles in Port, Pirates and Drow, Part II

Well, another blogger on WordPress liked my post about my second-planned Pathfinder campaign arc, so I thought I’d write a bit more about it than just the outline burp I did the first time.

I decided to do a pirate-themed arc because one of the other players, the guy who plays Ibin, the Elf Rogue, wanted to play a pirate in Pathfinder.  I checked out the Skull and Shackles Adventure Path, but that had problems.  First of all, there isn’t much fun pirating to start it off.  Second, the first dungeon is designed to kill the player character party outright.  Flooded dungeons mean the Game Master is trying to kill your character.  Not cool.  Second, I checked out the Freeport Companion as an option.  That also had problems.  First of all, there are layout and editing errors.  Second, there are legacy errors from the 3.5 edition of Dungeons & Dragons.  It appears text was cut and pasted into the document from an earlier version of the book.  Third, there are some downright revolting elements to the thematic fluff of the book.

So, that left me looking at the Paizo Pathfinder catalog, looking for something in the Varisia area which had pirates in it.  Riddleport.  Bingo!  A more wretched hive of scum and villainy you will never find in known Varisia.  With pirates, that is.  What goes on in Kaer Maga stays in Kaer Maga.

I’m a bit like Blizzard, when it comes to creating Pathfinder content.  No, I’m not a multi-billion dollar corporation who is obsessed with cows.  😉  I mean, I’m terrible at coming up with completely original material.  I work best when I take elements from a variety of other sources and remix them to come up with something new.

This time, to give the Riddleport arc some oomph, I decided that I would take inspiration from the Pathfinder Adventure Path called Second Darkness.  It’s set in Riddleport, has a serious case of doom and gloom and the threat of a Drow invasion.  Perfect!  My next step is to buy the players’ guide and the actual adventure path PDFs next, so I can pillage them for content to adapt.  I can fit the Players Guide into my PDF budget for next month, so I plan to do so.

Legal Information

 

 

By Dover Cook

I am a creative writer and tabletop RPG content creator.

Leave a comment